Vegan Food and Fun

As an early Mother’s Day gift, on Friday I took my mom out to dinner at Au Lac, a popular Asian themed vegan restaurant in my area.  They specialize in raw, which is good, but not really my thing.  We got a soy beef steak with asparagus and brown rice, fried tofu with pepper, and kung pao chicken.  I don’t normally eat so much soy, but this was a special occasion 🙂

They were out of their awesome choconut xtacy dessert, so we tried a rainbow fruit type thing, and I got an avocado parfait.  It was seriously delicious.

My main reason for taking my mom out to dinner was to get her in the area of a particular Barnes & Noble where there was going to be a book signing by the vegan chef for Ellen DeGeneres.  My mom likes to watch the Ellen show, and earlier in the week he was on there talking about  his new cookbook, Vegan Cooking for Carnivores, that was coming out and I said I would get it for her for mother’s  day.  So when I was going to go to the bookstore to pick it up, I saw he was doing a book signing.  What a coincidence!

It was a lot of fun and the  chef is really nice.  I ended up meeting his wife and son, who were very nice as well.  The cookbook has some incredible recipes, and is now my favorite cookbook….and finally…..a vegan cookbook written by a guy!

Check it out, the recipes are seriously great.  All in all, it was a really nice Friday night.

One Response to “Vegan Food and Fun”

  1. Wow, the presentation of the rainbow fruit dessert is beautiful! How nice that you got to enjoy a special day with your mom. My family lives across the country, so in-person celebrations are rare. And you are right, there is a serious shortage of vegan cookbooks written by men!

Leave a Reply

