Stuffed Artichoke

18/365 stuffed artichoke ingredients

Delicious recipe! Doesn’t take too long to prep and cook but it is not quick either. In total, it took me around an hour and 15 minutes from start to finish. Although I was taking lots and lots of photos throughout the process, so perhaps it would have only taken maybe 45 minutes?

My recipe is a slightly modified version of this recipe.

Turns out I got a rather dinky little artichoke but it was still delicious. Next time I’ll definitely get larger ones.

artichoke and oil

Ingredients
Artichoke (roughly double the ingredients for each additional artichoke)

Stuffing
3/4 – 1 cup breadcrumbs
2-3 tablespoons fresh chopped Basil
1/2 chopped, sauteed leek
5 tablespoons chopped Sundried Tomatoes, oil packed (use as much or as little as you like)
salt and pepper to taste (sea salt and fresh cracked black pepper is the best)
olive oil

Broth to steam the artichoke in
1.5-2 cups water
1 vegetable bullion
3-4 lemon slices
1 bay leaf
fresh cracked black pepper

basil cutting board

Directions
Prepare the artichoke, rubbing the lemon on parts that you have cut, to keep it from turning dark. Dig out the choke but be careful to leave the heart intact, as that is the most delicious part! I got a little crazy and accidentally scooped out the choke and heart (it was a small artichoke I had trouble discerning what was what). I rinsed off the heart bits and included that in the stuffing, so all was good.

the choke and flowers

Prepare the broth, and heat it up slowly. While that’s heating, prepare the stuffing in a bowl. Add olive oil little by little until the mixture is moist. Don’t overdo it or it’ll get too soggy. Stuff all of that into the center of the artichoke, plop that in the broth to simmer steam for 30 minutes or so (when the leaves are tender and can be easily pulled off, it is ready). Make sure the water just submerges the bottom, you don’t want it too deep in the broth. Only the bottom inch or two.

When that is finished, put that in your pre-heated to 350 degrees oven for about 10 or 15 minutes until it gets a bit crispy. Check it regularly. When it is crispy to your liking, time to enjoy!

A benefit of the very bottom leaves soaking in that broth is they have a wonderfully lemon tang when you eat those leaves (as you would an oyster). Don’t eat the whole leaf! You’ll be chewing it for hours. I know this because the first time I ate an artichoke I had no idea how to eat it, so I ate the leaves whole and wondered what was wrong. Just use your top or bottom teeth to skim off the fleshy inner part of the leaf.

My finished dish turned out a little brown because I left it a little too long to cook but it didn’t alter the flavor at all (I was multitasking between cooking and work). It was delicious though, and can’t wait to make this again.

I got a little crazy with the stuffing too…..I made a little too much so I just stacked it on as much as I could. Fine with me, I liked it that way.

stuffed artichoke

6 Responses to “Stuffed Artichoke”

  1. Goodness that looks delicious! I have been craving some artichokes lately, and now I know what I’ll do when I get my hands on some. Simply beautiful…

  2. omgawd i could eat that right now, despite having a japanese obsession this week.

    i never have or can cook with artichoke. i am intimidated by it’s intricacies. well done you!

  3. It was surprisingly easy to make! Really! I had never cooked an artichoke before, so I had zero experience and I did the whole thing on my lunch break.

    My only snag was that I pulled out most of the heart by accident….but I stuffed it with a bunch of grilled artichoke hearts so it worked out fine in the end 🙂

    • No way Kitchen Extraordinaire! I think I’ll leave the artichoke cooking to you plus artichoke is virtually non-existent where I’m currently located. Major suckfest!

      Why do they call it artichoke…it’s such a yummy veg, no one has to choke it down. Now celery is a different story…yuck.

      BTW – one can never go wrong with extra stuffing!

      • Aww I promise to make you stuffed artichoke some day!

        I guess it is called artichoke because there is a part in there that’s really fuzzy called the choke, and I’m assuming if you eat it, you could choke on it lol.

        It is always taken out when preparing artichokes 🙂

      • Denironi-The San Francisco Treat Says:

        That’s a promise I’m making you keep!

        OIC, thanks Eriwipedia. I honestly didn’t know that. I love learning new trivia.

Leave a Reply

