Mmmmeatballs and Disneyland fun

meatball sandwich w/daiya cheez

I decided to try that new Daiya cheez that everyone has been raving about and I must say it deserves every ounce of praise it gets. It melted so easily without even broiling it or otherwise cranking up the heat.

I sprinkled some on my veggie meatball sandwich the other day and it was delicious!

I’ve had this week off so I went to Disneyland with some friends. Lots of fun was had! I got my traditional mint julep that they only sell in New Orleans Square next to the Haunted Mansion (my favorite ride).

julep

and because I can’t resist showing another photo I took with my awesome new camera and lens……..
waiting-for-my-cold-friends

Wishing everyone a fun safe and prosperous New Year!

4 Responses to “Mmmmeatballs and Disneyland fun”

  1. Nice pictures…oh so jealous and happy for ya!

    I’ll be sure to try Daiya the first chance I get since it’s coming from a reputable source.:)

  2. Which meatball recipe did you use? I always use one (not being vegan) that incorporated chopped walnuts, eggs, cheddar cheese, matzo, and spices. I brown the balls in some oil, then once they have that nice coating, I cook them in the oven in a baking dish with some veggie stock to activate the matzo quality. I then drain them and either freeze or reheat any number of ways, to have with bbq sauce or sauerkraut or whatever you want… spaghetti sauce, etc. I figure you didn’t use eggs or cheese so I’m curious!

    Happy New Year Sir! Looking forward to things to come!

  3. I used some packaged meatballs. This was a quick lunch after a rainy morning hike so I didn’t make them myself.

    When I have made them myself, I went the chickpea route using the same ingredients and steps as in this recipe (but rolling them into balls instead of flat): http://www.vegangrub.com/?p=29

  4. That sounds like a wonderful new camera, beautiful picture. I asked my dad about his lens. I have no idea what this means, but he said 1855 2.5-4.5 and the company is Sigma. He knows wayyy more about photography than I.
    Your meat balls look so delicious, I have to look somewhere else now otherwise I’ll get too hungry!

Leave a Reply

