Washington DC – International City of Eatin'

national archives!

Back from Washington DC and what a fun time I had! I had front row seats for the keynote speaker of the conference – Colin Powell. He was really inspiring!

Now, on to the food. Washington DC has the most excellent food options of any city I’ve been to. Cuisine from all over the world was only a short walk from my hotel, and I did my best to try as many as possible. Which only amounted to a few, but the conference kept me busy!

guacamole @ Oyamel

Sunday night, after walking to the mall, which is where the Washington Monument and the White House are located, we went to a wonderful Mexican/Tapas restaurant called Oyamel. They had a decent number of vegetarian dishes but only 1 vegan dish, aside from the guacamole. It didn’t matter though….it was the best guacamole I have ever tasted, and we ended up ordering 4 bowls.

banquet at decatur house

Monday night we had dinner at the Decatur House, which was originally the closest residence to the White House. The banquet was exquisite, and they were nice enough to give me, aside from the salad, a heaping plate of steamed asparagus and carrots. The salad was outstanding.

zambian embassy H'ors D'oeuvres

Prior to dinner at the Decatur House, we stopped at the Zambian Embassy for drinks and H’ors D’oeuvres. Pictured in my hand is a flower petal, topped with a slice of grapefruit and sweet mustard. All the other ones had a pine nut nestled in there also, but that particular one didn’t.

ethiopian lunch

On Tuesday (June 16), which was my 30th birthday, I walked to the less tourist section to check out one of the popular Ethiopian restaurants, Etete. I probably looked funny trying to eat with no utensils, but it was lots of fun, very messy and very tasty. I ate my lunch so quick that I forgot to take a picture of my lunch, so the people sitting next to me were nice enough to let me photograph theirs. I don’t know exactly what they got, but it was from the vegetable section of the menu.

Finally, my most favorite photograph…..me standing on the podium of the circulation desk in the reading room of the Library of Congress. What a dream come true!

library of congress circ desk

4 Responses to “Washington DC – International City of Eatin'”

  1. Sounds like a fantastic and inspiring trip! I think guacamole is the perfect food, I could live on it for ages.
    I would give a lot to see the Library of Congress one day.

  2. WOW! What an awesome time you had!

    Yay to dreams coming true and good eatin in D.C!

    And yes! You had Ethiopian food there! High 5!

  3. What a dream come true trip! I love Ethiopian food. D.C. was where I tasted Ethiopian food the first time. Not sure if it was the same restaurant.

    Pictures look so good!

  4. What a very cool trip! The library of congress sounds amazing. Glad you ate well.

Leave a Reply

