Dr. Cow Nut Cheese

nut cheese (close up)

A few days ago, inspired by the entry over at Awesomel Vegan Rad, I ordered a wheel of the aged cashew & brazil nut cheese, and it arrived today, along with my veggie cevapcici, which I’ll save for a future entry.

I’ve been very curious about this nut cheese for some time now, so needless to say, I was excited to finally taste it!  It is made using a traditional cheese making process, which intrigued me.  I can say it is absolutely DELICIOUS.  It was much smaller than I expected, which was the only drawback.  The photos on the web site make it look about the size of your palm.  So it is a bit pricey for the size, but worth trying it out, although I know I’m going to be craving more.

There are only a few places where this cheese is available, and only one place on the west coast……Seattle……another reason I’m glad to be moving there soon 🙂

If you are curious about trying the dr cow nut cheese, I’d say it is definitely worth a taste.  I would buy it much more often if it were locally available, but I can’t justify shipping it from the other end of the country just for that tiny bit of cheese.  I ordered mine from Pangea, but there are a few other sources on the dr cow site as well.

packaged nut cheese

6 Responses to “Dr. Cow Nut Cheese”

  1. Oh man I wish I hadn’t read this, now I have to get some Dr. Cow! I can’t wait to see what you think about the cevapcici. I couldn’t believe it even existed.

  2. Does it taste very creamy cheesy? It looks very cheesy.

    Ya deserve a treat Eric! Sucks it costs so much but sometimes we need to pamper ourselves..hehe

  3. That sounds so good. Too bad it was so small but I guess it’s to be expected. I’m glad you enjoyed it! 🙂

  4. I had dr. cow back in november. somebody had ordered the sampler pack. I liked one of them a lot, but don’t remember which one.

  5. Fascinating. I think it’ll take some time before this is available in Europe though… How would you describe the taste? Is it mild or strong? I’m intrigued. =)

  6. Thank you for this review! I’ve seen this at some of the raw places around me, and it seems amazing. I want the aged cashew with blue-green algae, if not only to have blue vegan cheese. Just found your blog and LOVE it. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

