Avocado Smoothie

 avocado smoothie

I’ve been meaning to try this for some time, and I finally did.  I was a bit apprehensive at first, because I usaully associate avocados with salty, Mexican style flavors, but I was very pleasantly surprised at how good this was. 

Avocado really is a versatile food, and this is super quick to make. Even with my crappy blender, it only took maybe 10 minutes from start to finish.

Ingredients

1 avocado

1 cup ice (or more depending how thick you want it)

 1/4 cup soy/rice/almond/hemp milk (I prefer hemp milk)

2 tablespoons agave nectar

2 tablespoons coconut milk (optional)

Preparation is simple.  Pour in the milk, avocado, coconut milk, agave nectar and blend till smooth.  Add the ice and continue blending till you get it to your desired consistency.  Also, feel free to add agave or coconut milk to your desired taste.

11 Responses to “Avocado Smoothie”

  1. whoa that is one sexy smoothie…avocado or not! Must be extremely rich tasting.

    Looks good Eric!

  2. I have no doubt I’d love this. . . it looks so rich and thick!

  3. What a fabulous idea…and so nutritious!

  4. That looks so creamy and delicious!

  5. oh my…this is a brilliant idea…
    thanks for sharing 🙂

  6. i have no doubt that this is delicious… great idea!

  7. That looks lovely! I need to make one with the avocado I have on my counter. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

  8. this looks beautiful!!! i love love love avocado… maybe ill try this after my work out today!

  9. Looks delicious. I had avocado smoothie before in Indonesia(long long time ago). It’s delicious. They added strong coffee and condensed milk. I guess I can make it veganized. Here is a recipe:
    http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Coffee-Avocado-Milkshake-Es-Alpukat-201090

    Thanks for sharing the recipe.

  10. wow, that looks so pretty and I’m sure it is delicious. I’ve had avocado in a thai curry, breaded/fried, and in lime pudding. all were awesome.

  11. allaboutrenton Says:

    Eric – I agree with you about associating avocados with salt. I had a friend from Brasil always talk about eating avocados with sugar and to this day I still have not tried it. Maybe someday…

Leave a Reply

