Omega Kale Salad

Omega Kale Salad
Inspired by Veg*Triathlete’s Omega Kale Salad, I made this for dinner tonight. The ingredients I used are a bit different, but that’s the great thing about salad…..you use what’s on hand and its pretty much impossible to mess it up.

Simple. Delicious. Completely satisfying.

Ingredients I used:
* 1 head of kale – boiled to soften it up
* spinach
* pine nuts
* sunflower seeds (raw)
* hemp seeds
* lemon juice
* Miso Mayo – spicy red pepper (http://www.misomayo.com/)
* balsamic vinaigrette
* dusting of milled flax (for that omega boost)

11 Responses to “Omega Kale Salad”

  1. Oooh, now THAT is calling out my name!! yum!!

  2. weird…that’s 2 recipes in a row i’ve seen that uses this miso mayo. must be a sign, haha. anyway, this looks yummy and i’m always trying to find a way to trick myself into eating kale (i can only get the bitter, hard to eat kind here), so this looks great to me!

  3. oooh! that looks really good… I’ve not yet had miso mayo… I think I might have a reason to finally give it a try… i like kale but hubby doesn’t… maybe i can sneak it in!

  4. http://www.thevegancookbook.com/2008/11/chickpea-sun-dried-tomato-artichoke.html

    life is full of fun coincidences, no? p.s. i went to your earlier blog from like forever ago, and you are totally wrong about not putting that chipotle salsa on your breakfast tofu scramble. mexitofuscramble is the ONLY tofu scramble, in my house 🙂

  5. that looks really great. I’ve never tried miso mayo, but spicy red pepper sounds good. Next time I’m at whole foods, I’ll have to get some.

  6. Actually, I loved that you shared your “calorie knowledge” with me. As someone who doesn’t know much about calories and what’s a normal amount, etc, it’s really nice to know I’m on a good track :o).

  7. Ooh, that miso mayo sounds like a great addition! I haven’t seen it before ’round these parts. And your photo is beautiful!

  8. that is a beautiful salad. i love salads because my body always feel so good after having one. the miso mayo is very interesting. i love my brown rice miso so much.

  9. Eric,

    Thanks for the salad recipe. Looks good. Sorry I haven’t been on-line for a while. I have a family emergency in the last 6 weeks.

    Looks like you are moving to Seattle! Yay! Congrats! I hope I will see you at the next Veggie meet up before you go. I will be busy in November so maybe I will see you in December if there is a meet up.

    I wish you a great experience in Seattle!

  10. BTW, Mother’s Market in Santa Ana is open now. It’s cool that they have grab-n-go food court. They have vegan pizza in their pizza kitchen. The hot and cold food bar also have vegan items. Their taco bar also have vegan items. It’s cool. Check it out!

    I work close to this location so I am so grateful.

  11. I keep on wanting to try some of your food and recipes but I feel like I’d feel even worse if I didn’t end up liking it.

Leave a Reply

