Vegan Goulash

vegan goulash
Nothing reminds me of home like a good goulash. Its Hungarian, its hearty, and absolutely satisfying. It is the definitive comfort food for me. My Grandmother makes the best goulash, hands down. So, when I thought of making a vegan version, I went straight to the master. With a bit of help, this turned out every bit as delicious as the traditional version.

My cousin came over for a movie night, so we cracked a bottle of wine to celebrate the end of another summer semester, and enjoyed a bit of goulash with salad…..vegan style!

The ingredient amounts are very informal. This is one of those recipes that you can just eyeball, mainly to your own taste, but below is a guideline.

salat-mit-pfiff

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons oil
  • 1-2 cups soy chik’n or other faux meat of your choice
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 tablespoon flour (thickens it up a bit)
  • 1-2 tablespoons red paprika
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • pinch of sea salt
  • noodles of your choice (traditionally egg noodles are used, but I used wheat)

Directions:

  • heat the faux meat – I prefer to use a skillet
  • heat the oil on medium, and sautee the onions until they are a nice browned color
  • add half the water (slowly), bring to a boil momentarily, then reduce the heat to about medium-low to simmer
  • add the chik’n, paprika, and sea salt
  • let that simmer for about 10 minutes and prepare the noodles in the meantime
  • when the noodles are finished, its time to dig in……enjoy!
9 Responses to “Vegan Goulash”

  1. I love goulash – could you do this using veggies – like potatoes, mushrooms?

  2. You could definitely use veggies, especially potatoes, and it could still be considered authentic (aside from the fact that its vegan). Whatever suites your taste!

  3. hungarian grandmas really are the best cooks….
    mine used to make this too with a kind of nokedli…
    i am going to have to try yours to see how it compares….
    looks amazing….
    also i want to try to create a vegan palacsinta….mmmm….

  4. oh yes….palascinta with grandma’s homemade apple jam…heaven….
    does your grandma make applecake too?
    I was wondering if it was a hungarian thing or just a my grandma thing….
    p.s. I will love you forever if you post your vegan nutella recipe.

  5. I’ve never had goulash before… now I really want to make some.

    As for Croatia– Dubrovnik was a terrific city. We were there on a Sunday, so many stores were closed, but the scenery was amazing. I only wish we’d had more than a day to spend there!

  6. wow ive never tried this beafore… it looks delish!!!!

  7. Goulash was one of my favourite foods when I was a kid. When I look back even thoe thought of all those meat chunks in there disgusts me. Thank you very much for great recipe!

  8. I’d forgotten this goulash recipe of yours, even though I read it when you published it. This must’ve been the reason why I suddenly wanted to make some pörkölt.

    Your goulash looks absolutely delicious, I’ll try it for sure the next time I hunger for something Hungarian!

Leave a Reply

