Absinthe Makes The Heart Grow Fonder

tourment
Last summer when I was at a music festival in Portland, Oregon, I had the pleasure of trying some absinthe (well….it was quite the raging party, so I guess I had my fair share). The theme of the music festival was “A Dark Victorian Dream”, so naturally I bought an absinthe glass and spoon while I was there.

I’ve been meaning to buy some absinthe so I could actually be able to use my glass and spoon, but being that I’m not much of a drinker, I just never got around to buying any until today. I had gift cards, which was probably the only way I could justify spending $60 on a bottle of alcohol.   So I bought a bottle of Le Tourment Vert, which I’m excited to try it, although I’m not sure when that will be….the bottle is so beautiful I’d hate to ruin it by opening it.  It is hand glazed and numbered.

They say Van Gogh was intoxicated with absinthe when he cut his ear off….lets hope I don’t get to that point 🙂

6 Responses to “Absinthe Makes The Heart Grow Fonder”

  1. I’ve always wanted to try it but I didn’t think you could get it in the US? I actually had some love potion a friend of mine made once that smelled like it. It was a glowy green color too.

  2. Yup, you can get it in the US but its really hard to come by. You could always order it online and have it shipped. The bottle I got is from France.

  3. I have found places selling le tourment vert in San Francisco, but I don’t know where you live. The bottle stands out so you can’t miss it. A friend of mine gave me a bottle and I really like it – the drink as well as the bottle. It is worth opening, despite the beautiful etching and number – if you do it carefully you can keep everything in good condition and put it back together when you have finished.

    I drank it with ice cold water (this is the traditional way to drink it) but it is good mixed too.

  4. I have never heard of absinthe before so I am learning something new. Thanks for sharing the info. Your picture looks gorgeous. I love the look of the bottle also. Good blog!

    Debbie

  5. i’ve wanted to try this…
    let me know if it is worth it…
    i had homemade stuff before…not worth it
    🙂
    (great blog btw, excellent photos)

  6. Once you open it, you should tell us how it tastes. Remember, don’t drink too much, though — you’ve got to keep that ear intact!

Leave a Reply

