Happy 4th of July!

condiments

I hope everyone had a great 4th of July, and a safe one! I drove out to my friend’s house in Riverside to enjoy the holiday. We were treated to 2 different fireworks shows, all from the comfort of his backyard! Great conversations, great company and great food…..didn’t leave their house till 2 in the morning…..late night for me, I’m usually in bed by 10 pm!

What does this statue have to do with 4th of July? Absolutely nothing, but I love it and had to share it =)
buddha

While my friend and his wife are omni, they were very considerate in providing vegan options for me and also for my friend Matt, and so I had a vegan boca chik’n burger (which Matt brought) with hummus, avocado, onions, and corn. Sooooo good! It was getting toward night time, so the pictures of the patties on the grill didn’t turn out very well but I got some good shots of the condiments….and fireworks!

fireworks

5 Responses to “Happy 4th of July!”

  1. Glad you enjoyed the 4th of July holiday!

    What a gorgeous statue!

  2. Hehe you sound like me– usually in bed by ten, but sometimes ya gotta make an exception ;o).

    It’s great that your omni friends were so considerate :o)

  3. Toxygene Says:

    Hey there Eric,

    My family and I loved having you and Matt visit us for the Fourth of July. We all absolutely loved the fantastic conversations. It’s hard to find intellectual open minded people. Considering how my new family loved both of you; sometimes it makes it apparent to me how lucky I’ve been to have you, Matt and Dennis as good friends for the last 11 years.

    I’m definitely more interested in wanting to cook more vegan dishes and anytime you feel like wanting to photograph any of the statues or antiques in our house just let us know and drop on by.

    Talk to you soon!

  4. I think it is so terrific when friends accommodate us veg folk. My brother and his g-friend do me a favor when we go out and do not order any meat. They will usually have some kind of seafood, but it is not in seafood form (like no dead lobsters on the table since I would cry).

    Do you know which bodhisattva that statue is?

  5. Eric, thank you so much for your kind words on my blog. Reading them meant so much to me. You truly are a wonderful guy!

Leave a Reply

